Taverners Cricket Memorial Trophy

Taverners Cricket Memorial Trophy
Taverners Cricket Club had two golf trophies and a trophy for insidious performance for many years. The players sacrifice a lot to practise hard every second week throughout the long Winnipeg winter, to be ready and in top shape for the cricket in the summer.
It was time to acknowledge actual cricket achievements that occurs during the real cricket season in the summer.  In 2014 the Captain Hein Peters donated the “Taverners Cricket Memorial Trophy” , to be awarded for the most memorable cricket achievement, if any, of the season. The Captain and President will decide the winner at the end of the season. If their aging memories let them down, the trophy will go to someone or something that is somehow related to cricket.
2014: Sid Roberts – caught all three catches of a hat trick while fielding on long on
2015: Cold beer – was best performer of the season
2016: Chris Emery – three stumpings in one game
2017: Andrew Amsden- for hat trick
2018: The team that won the Bragging bat game.
2019: Keith James – for taking 5 consecutive catches on the long on boundary in 2 games

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.